Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2018, 10:33 AM   #1

K / M / A Lenses - what is the difference (Pentax Newbie)

What is the difference between M / K / A lenses?

Sorry if it is a dumb question, but I've only just come to Pentax this weekend gone. I am a complete Pentax newbie.

Are they all able to mount to K Mount Film Cameras?

Are there optical or build quality differences?

01-08-2018, 10:41 AM - 1 Like   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One place to start would be this page, which explains the various K-Mount series of lenses.

Basically, K / M / A lenses predates the autofocus era. Neverteheless, these lenses can be used (with a few exceptions) on any Pentax K-Mount camera, be that manual focus film camera, autofocus film camera, or digital camera.

A few A lenses saw the use of plastic parts and are perhaps less durable. Optically there are no general differences. Refer our lens database for user reviews.
01-08-2018, 10:45 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
One place to start would be this page, which explains the various K-Mount series of lenses.

Basically, K / M / A lenses predates the autofocus era. Neverteheless, these lenses can be used (with a few exceptions) on any Pentax K-Mount camera, be that manual focus film camera, autofocus film camera, or digital camera.
Perfect, thank you for the link. Appreciate the assistance.
01-08-2018, 10:49 AM - 1 Like   #4
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Matt_Dodwell_UK Quote

Sorry if it is a dumb question, but I've only just come to Pentax this weekend gone. I am a complete Pentax newbie.

This might be of interest as well

https://www.pentaxforums.com/articles/photo-articles/evolution-of-pentax-k-mount.html

01-08-2018, 10:49 AM - 1 Like   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Matt_Dodwell_UK Quote

This is another great guide: