Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-24-2018, 05:33 PM   #1

Pentax 70-200 vs Pentax primes 77 and 200, which option for a K-70?

I'm kind of new to Pentax. Looking at these lenses for nature shooting, much of it in the woods (dim lighting), birds and wildlife (action) as-well-as still life scenery. Which way should I go? Primes? or top quality zoom? I own none of these and am leaning toward primes simply because "you can't beat primes". In my early 35mm days I wouldn't own a zoom and juggled primes just fine, but I only shot manual back then as well, times change. Maybe the 70-200 is as good as these two lenses for my purposes and under the conditions I mentioned?

01-24-2018, 05:50 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RussAnton Quote
"you can't beat primes". In my early 35mm days I wouldn't own a zoom
Time to let that go. Modern zooms, at least the 'pro' level ones produce images indistinguishable from primes. At least the primes available today. The current modern zooms are competing against 20 plus year old film era primes. Maybe when Ricoh delivers the next generation DFA* lenses that might change.

But right now, buy the lens that works for the job regardless of whether it is a prime or zoom. And the DFA*70-200 is very good. But it also weighs a lot. I decide what lens based on the characteristics of the lens, not whether it is a zoom or a prime. If you want f/1.4 then you need a prime. Macro, then you need a prime. But the basic, use everyday, kit is centered on quality zoom lenses like the DFA 24-70 or the DFA*70-200.
01-24-2018, 06:02 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I agree on the prime verses zooms issue. When I started in photography primes were king but those days have long been gone. For me the DA*60-250 is the lens that best fits this bill. The DFA 70-200 is just too heavy for me to carry around.
01-24-2018, 06:17 PM   #4