Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2018, 03:47 PM   #1
Forum Member

FA vs. D FA for K-1 - a real difference in image quality?

Hi,

First up - this is my first post here as I've just purchased a K-1 - still waiting for it to arrive, in fact. I'm completely new to Pentaxia and to Full Frame digital photography in general and I have a few newbie questions related to the Pentax lens range that I'm hoping you folks can help me with.

I'm choosing lenses and have been pouring over reviews of lenses on this site, and I'd like to know whether there is any *general* differences in the D FA range that make them better, optically, for the K-1 than (older, cheaper and usually far lighter) FA lenses. I've heard suggestion that D FA are "specifically designed for digital cameras", but what does that actually translate into in terms of real world image quality? What exactly does the "D" in "D FA" add to the "FA"? Can FA lenses (especially FA*) keep up with the increase in resolution the K-1 provides over film, or would I be wasting some of the K-1's capacity to pair it even with some of the better FA* lenses?

Cheers,

Socrateeze

01-30-2018, 04:02 PM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Socrateeze Quote
Hi,

First up - this is my first post here as I've just purchased a K-1 - still waiting for it to arrive, in fact. I'm completely new to Pentaxia and to Full Frame digital photography in general and I have a few newbie questions related to the Pentax lens range that I'm hoping you folks can help me with.