Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-11-2018, 11:17 PM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Configurable 150mm filter system

Hi all,

Firstly, long time reader- first time poster. Pentaxforums has been a great source of information for me over the years, many thanks to all those who contribute, now it’s my turn!

I purchased the 15-30mm some time ago and was keen to get a 150mm filter system for it. Owning a 3D printer, I decided to design my own. I have no background in engineering/design/CAD software, so this has been quite a long-winded exercise for me. I still have some tweaking to do, but I’m happy with what I have so far, so I’d like to share it with you all.

Not only did I want an adapter to mount to my 15-30mm, I wanted something that could mount to virtually any of my Pentax lenses, and I suppose this is where my adapter differs in comparison to other systems I’ve seen. That would enable me to get more value out of the filters, especially with my polarizing filter, that has potential uses on multiple lenses.

The first photo is of the basic guts of the adapter mounted to the 31mm limited. There’s a set of mounting “half” rings that are clamped over the lens with an M10 bolt on either side to secure. They’re held in place on either end with a pin, a spring between them keeps the ring open, to easily slide it over the lens. I have picked up the 15-30mm's 1kg of bulk by just gripping the adapter, it secures quite well.

It takes just a minute to adjust the diameter of the mounting rings in software, and I can have a set printed in a couple of hours. The whole thing would take perhaps 10 hours to print, and cost several dollars in material.