Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-21-2018, 01:25 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Wide angle option around 15mm for FF

I see there have been 3 additions to the lens database about the Irix 15mm, but I was wondering if there are any more options out there ...?

The 15-30 is overkill and heavy, so I'm looking at the Irix (Blackstone or Firefly. Any options ?). I wish some modern wide angle primes were on the roadmap ... but, hey, they aren't, so I'm looking 3rd party. I've never bought a 3rd party lens, so it will be a first ...

I've little experience with super wide angles, having only had the occasional 'need' for one. Now I'm minded to try and learn to use one. The Irix seems a good quality lens that will not totally break the bank and will give me a better interiors option when I need and a play thing to experiment with ...

Many thanks ...

02-21-2018, 01:32 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The Samyang 14mm F2.8. But I think the Irix is sharper. We'll have a review going live soon!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
02-21-2018, 01:40 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Irix 15mm is fine lens. I have Blackstone, and it has only two flaws: no AF (I knew it), and fluorescent markings need UV to glow (I didn't know it). All in all, this is very interesting and relatively cheap option for anyone looking for UWA lens.
02-21-2018, 03:10 PM   #4
Pentaxian

The Samyang/Rokinon 14mm f2.8 that Adam mentioned is good. I use it less often after buying the 15-30 for versatility and WR.