Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2008, 03:27 PM   #1

Question on "Takumar" brand.

I am kinda new to photography.

I have heard so much about "takumar" but i could not see one at bhphoto.com..

Is this a brand? (i assume it is)
Is it discontinued?
Will their lenses it fit directly on my k100d? (On e-bay all of them says "screwmount")
Are all their lenses cheap?
Is it only for Pentax cameras?
I just bought a pentax normal smc-fa 50 f/1.4... Does this perform inferior to its Takumar twin? (I read about takumar 50 f/1.4s)
Do they have autofocus , can i adjust the aperture on my camera body?
Is there something like "pentax bought takumar and now what used to be takumar tech is used on pentax lenses"..

Sorry for so many questions..

09-02-2008, 03:48 PM   #2

First, read this, it answers a lot of your questions:
Takumar - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Second, read this about using them on Pentax DSLRs:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-photography-knowledge-base/3800-ca...unt-d-slr.html

Third, read through the lens database for opinions on the various lenses starting here for the 50/1.4:
Pentax Lens Review Database - 50mm F1.4

That should give you a start but there is much more information out there, you just need to search for it.

Once you've read through that you will be able to ask more specific questions and i'm sure a lot of people will fill in the blanks here too.
09-02-2008, 03:51 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
AlpenTak gave you some good info, but I'd just like to add that you shouldn't worry about your FA 50mm 1.4 being inferior to the Takumar version. You can't go wrong with any of the Pentax 50mm lenses. They're all pretty darned good.
09-02-2008, 09:52 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums