Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
03-10-2018, 09:00 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Macro Lens for Slide Digitization Project

Hello All,

In two weeks, I plan to take on a project to digitize my Mom’s 35mm slide collection, numbering in the neighborhood of 1,500 or so. With the limited time I have available, I was thinking of using a slide copier setup with my K5 and read elsewhere a 1:1 macro lens is needed. What lens would best match the K-5’s APS-C sensor for this application? Are any other components besides the lens and slide mounting fixture required? I do have a small light table for viewing transparencies to use as a light source if that’s appropriate.

From what I’ve seen so far, other forum threads only address partial aspects of my question, and I need to know the end to end solution starting with what I already have so I don’t miss anything. Thanks for the insights, I’m completely new at this!

Cheers, Allan

03-10-2018, 09:50 AM - 1 Like   #2

If you shoot at 1:1 magnification your images will be cropped since the APS-C sensor is smaller than the 35mm slide image.

How do you intend to shoot the slides? Do you have a bellows and slide copier attachment or a dedicated slide copier like the old Spiratone Dupliscope? Again the problem with using these was that they were designed for 35mm frames (Full-Frame). You can get the full image on to the APS-C sensor by using lesser magnification but this means moving the slide further away from the sensor. It can be done but often the rails are not long enough depending on the lens you are using.

If you have a copy stand or tripod you can shoot your slides on the light table. You should have some sort of tube or shroud from the lens to slide to cut out extraneous light. Aligning the tripod to get things parallel could be a pain.

See this thread on using the Pentax Bellows and slide copier: