Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-25-2018, 08:29 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Front focus on my 43 Limited

Hello Folks,
I have been shooting with my 43 Limited lens. It really is hard to like because it seems to be soft. Today, I tried to do a calibration test using a long ruler. I focused (wide open) on the number 31. When looking at the image, I noticed that it appears to be front focusing. The focus is clear on the number 31, and about 1/2 an inch in front. It becomes out of focus only 1/16" behind 31. Do I need to do a lens calibration? I have never done this before, and I can't find it int the manual. I'm a little nervous about doing it, but I want to do it right, and perhaps start to love my 43 Limited. I like the fact that it is a true normal on my K-1.
Can someone please tell me where in the manual to get the directions? Is this process very difficult? I assume that I will make a small adjustment, and then retest the lens. As much help as possible will be very much appreciated.
Thank you very much.
Terry

03-25-2018, 09:03 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Fixing Front and Back Focus - The Remedy - In-Depth Articles

You can use a regular ruler at an angle as it sounds like you already did. Just read the article for the other details.
03-25-2018, 09:43 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
Fixing Front and Back Focus - The Remedy - In-Depth Articles

You can use a regular ruler at an angle as it sounds like you already did. Just read the article for the other details.
Thank you, Sir. I watched a youtube video, and then was able to find it in the manual. It seems strait forward, so I should be able to do it, and keep testing the lens until I get it perfect.
Terry

---------- Post added 03-25-18 at 09:58 AM ----------