Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
04-11-2018, 10:05 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Curious about Pentax lens lineup.

I’m new to the Pentax system and curious about the philosophy of the DA limited line.

I’ve noticed that the line is made up of small, light, well built but “slowish” lenses (from an aperture perspective). I was wondering if this comes from a long term Pentax design philosophy? Is it to set the brand apart from the fray? I have shot with Canon and Sony, so this is very unique to me.

04-11-2018, 10:21 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I don't know what others will say but my perspective is that Pentax makes camera gear meant for portability and outdoors use.

The camera bodies for the crop sensors are smaller and lighter. They are also light years ahead of the competition in terms of beefy weather resistant features.

If you want to stay with the crop lineup you could take the entire lineup on a 20 mile hike or carry it on a plane no problem.

Throw in a WR zoom and you are set up.

Keep in mind that these lenses and cameras are predominantly for daylight use. In extreme low light conditions they will struggle some but not too awful or anything.

You put together any kit you want...from any manufacturer and get 5 primes of your choice and one zoom and then compare. The size and weight considerations are huge.

As long as you feed your camera (any camera)good light and you will do ok.
04-11-2018, 10:24 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums