Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20 Likes Search this Thread
05-15-2018, 08:33 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What Is The Deal With Plastic?

I've been looking through the lens reviews (more dreaming than planning) and have noticed that every time a lens is constructed of plastic that the issue is considered a negative. So I got to wondering...

Has there been a problem with plastic constructed lenses? Do they fall apart? Do they suddenly stop focusing? Why does the plastic seem to be considered is a major negative?

I have no background in chemistry or plastics (I'm a math guy, a teacher), but I do know that there are many, many things built of some pretty tough plastics. In fact in many instances, plastic construction can be an advantage – I do like the weight savings with my Sigma 150-500.

Anyway, what am I missing? What I am going to lose – other than some weight to carry – when I buy a plastic lens?

Just wondering.

Don

05-15-2018, 08:35 AM   #2
Pentaxian

The biggest thing is that plastic is cheap, and doesn't feel as solid as metal.
05-15-2018, 09:15 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Plastic lenses come in many quality levels. But the taint of the lowest cost worst built lenses (I'm looking at you Sigma UC) sticks in people's minds.
05-15-2018, 09:39 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by AggieDad Quote
. . .
Anyway, what am I missing? What I am going to lose – other than some weight to carry – when I buy a plastic lens?

QuoteOriginally posted by timw4mail Quote
The biggest thing is that plastic is cheap, and doesn't feel as solid as metal.

I agree with timw4mail.

We humans are subjective, idiosyncratic beasts. I get a lot of tactile enjoyment from simply picking up and holding a substantial, metal lens.
Light weight is near the bottom of my list of desirable lens criteria.