Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-23-2018, 07:35 AM - 5 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Breaking Out of the Vintage Glass "Dark Side"

The only reason I stayed with Pentax , and have always come back to Pentax was...….. the Lenses.
I still have several from my late teens in High School, and acquired a bunch more due to LBA until the numbers have become "absurd"......lol.

However..... recently I began using FA and DFA lenses and wonder what Decade (or century) Ive been hiding in for the last twenty years or so ?
Have I just been kidding myself over vintage Legacy Glass being Soooo Good...….for way too long ?
Does shooting Only Legacy glass somehow make me a more traditional Photographer ?
How badly have I limited myself by using only Legacy Glass ?
Does being a Legacy Prime Purist benefit me in ANY way ?

Honestly ? Does anyone really enjoy swapping out Primes continually ?
Im getting Tired of it !
Im the one always saying....."Hold On"....."Wait"....."give me a second to change lenses"...… "now Don't Move"...…..its UGLY !
My Landscape Photography has improved......But everything else has become a Hassle and a Big Pain !

Somehow I keep thinking that what I started out trying to "BE".... and had idealized myself as being a Manual Mode Purist.....has in reality been mixed in with a healthy dosage of Vintage Glass LBA , and vintage Prime Lens buying OCD.
Ultimately......I have limited myself and not grown at all !

I resisted "change" for so long.....and I don't know why ?
15 years behind the rest of you on digital bodies ?
10 years behind on PP and photoshop ?
5 years refusal to use modern coatings and lenses ?

This hasn't helped at all , and has really hindered me...…..until now !

Just what have I become ?
Another "Old Photography Duffer".... stuck on Vintage Glass from 3 decades ago that will Not accept change ?