Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-11-2018, 05:31 PM   #1
Forum Member

Grey market Tamrons, are they ultimately worth it?

I'm looking at one on ebay but given its short owner history and irreparability am hesitant to take the plunge. Any advice or comments are appreciated. Thanks.

07-11-2018, 05:44 PM   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by funkythiru Quote
I'm looking at one on ebay but given its short owner history and irreparability am hesitant to take the plunge. Any advice or comments are appreciated. Thanks.
As i'm rather new to DSLR lens don't account on me to be 100% precise, even 50%, i just had one Tamron 18-200 lens and turned out very bad, as bad as the shop changed it on warranty for an SMC almost-equivalent at no cost. All second hand equipment btw.
07-11-2018, 06:06 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by CapitanXeon Quote
As i'm rather new to DSLR lens don't account on me to be 100% precise, even 50%, i just had one Tamron 18-200 lens and turned out very bad, as bad as the shop changed it on warranty for an SMC almost-equivalent at no cost. All second hand equipment btw.
The seller isn't a commercial outlet, so I can't expect anything like that. I see a listing here on PF for a grey market 70-200mm on sale because it can't be repaired, that's another sign for me to stay put.
07-11-2018, 06:15 PM   #4

If it *can't* be repaired, why bother?

07-11-2018, 07:27 PM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by CapitanXeon Quote
If it *can't* be repaired, why bother?
My mind is a monkey, it wont let it go once it takes a shine to something.
07-11-2018, 07:45 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Buy from any store or vendor that permits returns.

Test as soon as you get it, don't throw away any of the packaging.
07-11-2018, 09:19 PM   #7
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums