Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2018, 10:02 PM - 1 Like   #1

Please, knock me off the fence. (yes, another 15-30)

After 3 weeks of grinding through the articles and posts, I still find myself not pulling the trigger on this allegedly great lens. Even though my index has a cramp, and I'm getting ready to pull the trigger due to the spasms I'm getting, in a good way, here goes one final good faith, last chance plea to give anyone the chance to tell me "why not". (Thanks in Advance)

My Requirements: A) I design homes for a living, so yes, Architecture for my clients, my website, my soul...
B) I commune with nature as a first line of defense against the rising tide of everything, so yes, Landscape, near and far,
steelhead rivers that are tribs of the mighty columbia...and close focus flowers and hero shots of dime bright steelheads!
(abstracted) rose buds of which some will end up printed large, and esp., sources for watercolors yet to come.
C) ASTRO (what else is there to say, other than there are so many comps other than just the milky way behind that dark steeple,
band i will pursue those too.)

My big issue; I read today, moments before i was ready to purchase, that this lens is actually a purist architectural lens, first. (all i could see in my mind then was lines, perspective, lines..... This from an "expert" (why do peeps love spoiling a party?)

What I want: A great lens that will give great results, in a broad spectrum within those three range of uses (ALA), within it's realistic range of strengths (knowing its weaknesses and working within those as creative constraints.)