Digital Only 2418.90%
FF 3527.56%
Either (Digital Only or FF isn't a concern) 6853.54%
Voters: 127. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2008, 11:57 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Digital Only or Full Frame lenses

I am new to photography- got my K10d a few months ago, and I'm itching to expand my lens options from my current kit lens. I don't plan on buying a new body anytime soon, but given the given the competitions new FF models and speculation that Pentax will head this way in the future, I'm not sure how to invest my lens money. Even if I a buy a new body in a few years as I become a better photographer, I'd like certainly like to be able to use any nice lenses I buy for much longer.

Essentially my questions is: If you were starting your lens collection from scratch and cost was not major concern, would you buy digital only or FF lenses?

Last edited by JamieP; 09-16-2008 at 12:11 PM.
09-16-2008, 12:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

buy what you need now. even if you get lens that only works for APS-C, future FF cameras should be able to autocrop it out.
09-16-2008, 12:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have no intention of ever buying a camera that will "shorten" the effective focal length of all my lenses!

Last edited by Marc Sabatella; 09-16-2008 at 03:36 PM.
09-16-2008, 01:13 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I prefer wide to long, so i disagree with marc, but full frame isnt an issue.

apart from that ff nikon that crops to shoot images at 6mp or something?!? i couldnt handle that.

I am perfectly fine shooting APS. As long as i have the lenses i need, 14.6 megapixels is enough quality BY A LONG LONG WAY (i hardly ever shoot over 10.2 megapixels, even on professional stuff).

It would be good to use my old lenses to their full potential, but i think the move back to FF is a big mistake apart from the top-pro cameras where its actually needed.

09-16-2008, 02:07 PM   #5
Inactive Account