Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-26-2018, 11:36 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Tripod collar recommendations for FA* 300mm f/4.5?

I recently purchased an FA* 300mm f/4.5, and I'm looking for some advice regarding tripod collars for it. (I'm new to using tripod collars, since my lenses have generally been lighter ones, like the 55-300mm.)

First, how important is it to use a tripod collar with this lens if using it with a tripod or monopod? I'm wondering both about whether using it without a collar would put an undesirable amount of strain on the lens mounts and mounting screws, and also about the observed stability benefits of using a collar.

I do plan to purchase a collar for this lens, so I'd also like recommendations on which one to buy and to hear the experience of those who've used these various collars. The options range from Canon's own collars for their 70-200mm f/4 lenses to a number of clones of those collars.

My top concern is safety. I really wouldn't be happy to have the lens and an attached K-1 take a bad fall.

The seller of the lens I bought indicated that some scratches on the barrel were due to the prior owner's use of tripod collar that didn't have enough padding inside, so that's another concern. (Perhaps such scratching would be more likely to occur when rotating the lens in the collar to change the orientation.)

Other concerns would be whether stability varies from one model of collar to another, and whether there are usability issues with some.

Also, some of the collars are available in black or white. Any thoughts on the benefits of one versus the other? (I was thinking of white, since it might stay cooler if one were out in the sun for an extended period of time.)

Here are some different collars I'm currently aware of:
  • Canon's Tripod Mount Ring A II