Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-05-2018, 07:19 AM   #1

Question on new Lenses

Hello,
I'm an average photographer. I recently upgraded to the K-70 and also bought the DA35mm F2.4 and DA50mm F1.8 lenses.
I have been experimenting with the SCENE settings on the camera and quite frankly, this is the best feature Pentax has included on a camera.
Why Pentax hasn't advertised that feature and its capabilities more is beyond me. For years I've been expecting the cameras Auto function to be able to read my mind when I push the shutter button, and it just hasn't worked. If only more people knew what these features can do!
Now with the SCENE feature, its taking the pictures like I've always wanted and expected the camera to be able to do, I'm enjoying photography again.

I was looking for a wide angle lens, and I have the 10-17mm fisheye, but I'm tired of the fisheye effect.
There is the DA 15mm F4 which is many years old and no longer made, although I see a few old stock in B&H and Adorama, and used on ebay. The DA21mm is in the same boat.

Does anybody know if Pentax is going to expand the line of lenses of the mentioned DA35mm and DA50mm?

Thanks

08-05-2018, 07:37 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the forums!

It's great to hear that the scene modes are working well for you, and if that's giving you the creative control and results you want, fantastic. Be aware, though, you can unlock much more creative control by using the P, Av, Tv, TAv and M modes - but there's a learning curve involved.

Regarding lenses, the DA35 f/2.4 and DA50 f/1.8 are the only low-cost prime lenses currently available. However, the HD DA15, 21, 35 Macro, 40, 70 and 20-40 zoom Limited lenses are all current models, and each one of them is superb (the Limited designation pretty much guarantees this). There are many other current Pentax and third-party prime and zoom lenses that are compatible with your camera too