Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-18-2008, 11:32 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Good Inexpensive Lens for Landscapes

Hey guys,

I've been doing a bit of landscape photography lately and I wanted get more into it. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good lens for landscapes (and seascapes). I'm looking for a lens in the price range of $200-300 so I know it's not going to be anything fancy. I don't need autofocus by the way. I've heard that Pentax has some good prime lens that are cheaper but I'm fairly new to photography so I don't know which fixed mm setting would be best for lanscapes. I would assume wide angle but I'm not really sure, I'm still learning a lot of this stuff.

Thanks for any advice!

09-18-2008, 11:58 PM   #2
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good inexpensive lens for landscapes? I think you may have one already. DA18-55. Stick with it for a while. Stopped down to f8 - f11 range it's really sharp. If you really want to spend money, check some old takumars. But which one is better than the other and how much would be good prices... you'll have to ask another members...
BR
Peter
09-19-2008, 01:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

You can't beat the kit lens for price/performance ratio.
09-19-2008, 01:48 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Deni Quote
You can't beat the kit lens for price/performance ratio.
kit lens rocks!

09-19-2008, 03:01 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Should you wish to get a prime, I suggest any of the Pentax 28mm's or 35mm's out there. They both will get you a taste of the resolution possible, and work very well indeed stopped down for that 'infinite focus zone' effect.

If you get a Super/SMC Takumar with the screw mount, you'll have to get the Pentax screw to K adaptor. But once over that hurdle, the world of low priced screw mount lenses opens up for you.