Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
08-30-2018, 06:19 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
NEW or USED gear... What's in your bag?

I have been shooting for a few years now. I have acquired a lot of gear, and sold a decent amount already.

ALL my critical camera gear (aside from batteries), including camera body, lenses, battery grip, filters, teleconverters, etc. has been purchased USED>

I have never bought a brand new lens or camera...
Only batteries...

I know people that REFUSE to buy used gear. They cringe when I talk about a lens I've purchased from the marketplace and am excitedly waiting for it to arrive!

What's in your bag and why?

Do you buy brand new for a particular reason?
Do you like having the latest and greatest before anyone else?
Or do you not trust anyone to buy used?

Do you guy used gear for a particular reason?
Do you like the discounted price?
Do you like meeting people in the marketplace and sharing experiences along with the purchase?
Do you not care about the newest release and just want to wait until the price drops in the used market?

I'm the latter.

I don't need the latest and greatest tech. And would rather wait until reviews come out and prices drop.
I like meeting people on the forum and trading gear. Buying used gear has a different level of interaction.
The cost savings is great too!

08-30-2018, 06:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have a mix of new and used lenses. The first couple of lenses I bought for the K-1 were all new. But my most recent 4 lenses have been bought used on ebay.

When it comes to electronics I tend to gravitate more towards new simply because it's harder to tell what condition the item is in. Even if the Seller is 100% honest, it's just hard to tell. Non electronic devices like lenses, I'm much more comfortable buying used.
08-30-2018, 06:33 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery