Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Mostly used.

08-31-2018, 04:18 PM   #62
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by UserAccessDenied Quote
I have been shooting for a few years now. I have acquired a lot of gear, and sold a decent amount already.

ALL my critical camera gear (aside from batteries), including camera body, lenses, battery grip, filters, teleconverters, etc. has been purchased USED>

I have never bought a brand new lens or camera...
Only batteries...

I know people that REFUSE to buy used gear. They cringe when I talk about a lens I've purchased from the marketplace and am excitedly waiting for it to arrive!

What's in your bag and why?

Do you buy brand new for a particular reason?
Do you like having the latest and greatest before anyone else?
Or do you not trust anyone to buy used?

Do you guy used gear for a particular reason?
Do you like the discounted price?
Do you like meeting people in the marketplace and sharing experiences along with the purchase?
Do you not care about the newest release and just want to wait until the price drops in the used market?

I'm the latter.

I don't need the latest and greatest tech. And would rather wait until reviews come out and prices drop.
I like meeting people on the forum and trading gear. Buying used gear has a different level of interaction.
The cost savings is great too!

for me, both....

my K-50 and my first K-3 were both purchased new, but my second K-3 was second-hand...

most of my lenses are second-hand, with a couple of new/refurbished lenses mixed in...

I'll buy new if the price is right, but a generation or two older and cheaper are just fine with me - I'm not a pro, but just an enthusiast...
09-04-2018, 04:52 AM   #63
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I have purchased a limited lens used and it legitimately arrived with food residue on the focus barrel and smudges on the front element, like someone licked the thing before sending it out...