Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
09-18-2018, 05:02 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Has anyone used both the DA 16-85 and DFA 28-105?

I have found one initial thread on this topic, but it's already old:

DA 16-85 and DFA 28-105 differences and my initial assessment - PentaxForums.com

I've been using the 16-85 as my workhorse for a good many years. Even when I got the K-1, the 16-85 remained with me, in good part because I had nothing which gave me an equivalent to the lens' wide angle on FF. However, managing the crop factor has become bothersome, especially since I modified my 60-250 for full frame.

Fast forward, I now have the FA 20-35 and it covers the wide angle pretty well. I wouldn't miss the 16-85's wide end all that much, and the tele end isn't an issue either (I got primes and can crop from 36 MP). So the 28-105 is beginning to have more appeal. It's also a tad smaller.

Even though my lineup of primes is better than the 16-85, that lens has always been reliable and trustworthy. I wonder how the 28-105 compares to it optically.

Side-by-side images are a lot to ask for of course, but any opinion would be welcome. Thanks!

09-18-2018, 06:01 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Sorry, I cannot give you a comparison between these two zooms since I do not have the DFA 28-105. I will be very interested in seeing what responses you get. I was on the fence a year and a half ago trying to decide between getting a DFA 28-105 or the 16-85 as my workhorse zoom on my K-3. Unfortunately my budget was for a used lens and there were no used copies of the 28-105 in my budget available. I was leaning toward the 28-105 based on it being FF in case I decide to upgrade in the near future. I did find a like new used 16-85, bought it, and have been using it for the last 18 months. I am very happy with the 16-85, it is solid, sharp and very versatile, everything I wanted in a workhorse zoom.