Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-22-2008, 03:31 AM   #1
Inactive Account

What lens should I get

Hi All,

Let me start off by saying I am an absolute novice when it comes to DSLR cameras and as such I am totally confused by the different mounts, lenses, adapters etc.

I have just bought a K100D that came with a single lens in the kit. I can't say I am overly impressed with the lens and am looking to find something a bit better. However, I don't have a lot of cash to spend and would be happy with something second hand but looking at Ebay etc I have no idea what would fit my camera.

Can someone please help me with suggestions as to what I could use on my camera?

Thanks!!

Jenni

09-22-2008, 09:02 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Thats hard to say, as we don't know what type of photography you want to do.. What kind of pictures do you want to take?
09-22-2008, 09:33 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Hi,

if you would like to replace the kit lens with a "better" equivalent (covering roughly the same focal lengths) I would suggest the Sigma or Pentax 17-70 lenses. They are different, but both reportedly perform very well (I can vouch for the Sigma, which I own, but not the Pentax, which I've never used). They are relatively inexpensive, and the Sigma pops up now and then on the marketplace.

Otherwise, you would try to get your hands on older primes, such as the M and A lines from Pentax. You will need to focus manually, though.

Usually, regarding lenses, you get what you pay for, and the longer the zoom range, the more compromises are needed to design the lenses. The maximum aperture of a lens (f-stop) will also influence your ability to take sharp pictures in difficult situations.

You could experiment a bit more with the kit, just to see which focal elgnts suit you best, then get a lens covering these focal lengths.
09-22-2008, 09:59 AM   #4
Veteran Member