Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2018, 02:56 AM   #1

What's a good long-range lens for a Pentax K100D Super?

I have a K100D Super that I would like to use more often but alas I only have a 50mm lens for it, which is great for portraiture but basically nothing else. I use cameras primarily for bird/nature/wildlife photos so I need something more long range but I'm a newbie to interchangeable lenses so I have absolutely no idea what would be compatible or fit with this camera. Please help! I'm also on a budget so nothing crazy expensive. Thanks in advance
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
https://dltutuapp.com/ https://9apps.ooo/https://showbox.software/

Last edited by rushabPmore; 09-23-2018 at 02:02 PM.
09-20-2018, 03:23 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Any of the Pentax DA 55-300 (non-PLM), new or used, gives great bang for your buck.
09-20-2018, 03:45 AM   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

^^^ What Paul said.

The non-PLM DA 55-300 (in its various incarnations) is a great lens. Stopped down, it's not a million miles off the far more expensive DA*60-250 in terms of centre sharpness. Quite a remarkable little lens, for very little money.

Welcome to the forums

Last edited by BigMackCam; 09-20-2018 at 04:27 AM.
09-20-2018, 04:23 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ditto on the 55-300mm the previous posters have recommended, but earlier (F and FA) Pentax lenses include and 80-320mm and 100-300mm, check out the reviews in Pentax lens reviews.
There are also many "budget" AF 70-300mm lenses (new and used) if you are having trouble finding a Pentax.