Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2008, 10:15 PM   #1

Tough choice on so many great lenses.

I have seen great debates on here as well as some other forums about certain group of lenses that a drool worthy but money burning.

First let me say that I am not a pro-level person but I like many here have gotten very engulfed by the photography hobby bug. I love how photography is an always learning, creative hobby/profession that keeps you on the move. I have a few months before I pull a trigger on two lenses but I would like to hear other fellow Pentaxians thoughts on what lens will better suit my area of interest.

The one lens that I KNOW that I want is the fisheye (most likely the 10-17 unless someone has a better alternative ). I just drool at so many pictures posted here and all around (not just Pentax but other DSLR systems) that I just have to get a fisheye. I even was giddy when my best friend's wedding photography put his on for some fun shots. It just seems like a really fun lens to use and it's definitely something I have been patiently saving up for.

The other lens that I am having trouble in deciding is a fast lens that I can use for indoor track, speedskating, and night time baseball. By now many of you probably can guess what lenses I'm about to suggest that is one my undecided list: the Sigma/Tamron 70-200 2.8, Sigma 50-150 2.8, and Pentax 50-135. Now here is my top 3 things that are really important to me: AFspeed>Length>Weathersealing. Just to show my reasoning I will explain a bit more on each.