Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2008, 05:06 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Screw Mount Question

Last time I was at the local "Hock Shop", they had a lens there, and had it listed as a "screw mount". There was no indication if it was Pentax mount or not. I guess the question is weather or not anyone other than Pentax used screw mount, and if so, how can I identify if it is Pentax mount or not?

09-25-2008, 05:14 AM   #2
Forum Member

I'm far from an expert, and I'm sure I'll be corrected in an instant if wrong, but by far the most common screw mount thread size is M42, i.e. 42mm diameter by 1mm thread pitch. This is what you want - it's the size used by Pentax and numerous other lens and camera makers. There is an older M37 standard, but that is far less common.

If you already have a screw mount adaptor (which I'm guessing you don't if you are asking this question), you could bring that and try it on the lens. Failing that, you could see if there's an old screw mount SLR in the shop, and see if the lens fits it. Another way is to measure the thread to see if it's about 42mm in diameter.

M42 info at Wikipedia: M42 lens mount

What was the lens BTW?
09-25-2008, 05:24 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by the_snark Quote
I'm far from an expert, and I'm sure I'll be corrected in an instant if wrong, but by far the most common screw mount thread size is M42, i.e. 42mm diameter by 1mm thread pitch. This is what you want - it's the size used by Pentax and numerous other lens and camera makers. There is an older M37 standard, but that is far less common.

If you already have a screw mount adaptor (which I'm guessing you don't if you are asking this question), you could bring that and try it on the lens. Failing that, you could see if there's an old screw mount SLR in the shop, and see if the lens fits it. Another way is to measure the thread to see if it's about 42mm in diameter.