Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2018, 02:15 PM   #1

Pentax DA 21mm f/3.2 VS Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8

Hello, as the title states I'm considering about selling the DA 21 I own and to buy in its place the Sigma 17-50, but I want to hear some advices before since I'm not really an expert.
I'm considering to sell it because I shoot more than often at private parties. I can do with my Pentax DAL 18-55 f/3.5-5.6, but I end up using the DA 21 and 50 prime lenses for better results.
But of course I dream about how confortable the 18-55 is and the wiiiiide shoots I got at 18, so the 17-50 seems the obvious choice since it can open 2/3 of a fstop more.
But I'm afraid that the performances in terms of sharpness, flare control, distortion and vignetting could be far worse in these zoom lenses. Still it should be noticed that 21 is enough far from 17 to avoid the worst. If anyone happens to own both, I'd love a comparison picture at 21mm.
I'd also consider the Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, but the focusing issues on Pentax, limited zooming range and availability keep me from considering it.
I should mention that the 21mm lens is really really compact compared to the 17-50, I swear the 21 is so small I forgot it in my jacket pockets after a party, it's really comfortable to bring around to switch it. But if I can do with a single lens kit it's even better than having a small one.
So? Should I worry about the difference in performances between the two? Obviously, at 21mm only.

11-20-2018, 02:51 PM - 1 Like   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

I own both lenses. IMHO, each is excellent in its own right, but for different reasons.