Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2019, 12:03 PM   #1

Wide Angle and Walk Around Lens Help

I would like to get a wide angle lens (<18mm) for real estate pictures and also a wider range lens to use the rest of the time. (18-250, 18-270, or 18-300)

I have a Pentax K-70 and I use the DA L 18-55mm WR f3.5-5.6 and the DA 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED WR lens as my primary lenses. (I have a couple of old manual focus prime lenses too.)

I live in the mountains and drive gravel/dirt roads for at least 30 minutes during a typical day. I am a real estate sales agent and I use the 18-55mm to take home and land pictures. I usually have the 50-200mm on the camera when I am driving so that I can get pictures of elk, deer, or other animals from my Jeep when I see them. Often those will be in the early morning or evening hours. I hike a lot, both on rocky trails and off trails through thicket. Those hikes are usually with an Australian Shepherd. Without a doubt I have missed some pictures by only having the 18-55 mm on the camera and I don’t like having to switch lenses all of the time because of the hassle and because I think that invites dust. On hikes, the camera is staying around my neck and tucked as best I can have it, into a camera bag that I also wear around my neck.

Compared to the kit lenses that I use right now, what could I expect out of the 18-250, 18-270, or 18-300 mm lenses available? I’d prefer to spend less than $500 and I lean towards used lenses. However, the Sigma 18-300mm new at $400 is tempting, so I might be willing to expand my budget for that. I have ruled out 18-135mm lens – I need more range than that for animal pictures.

Thoughts are much appreciated and if you would like for me to share any pictures as samples of the kind of stuff I take, I am happy to share.

Thanks,
Tim

01-13-2019, 12:31 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by PaysonAZTim Quote