Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2019, 03:57 PM   #16
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter




Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Medellín
Posts: 1,284
I'm thinking it's a lens issue, too. An A lens hast to establish a connection when it's set to the A position. I remember fixing an A50/2 because the metal parts that make or break the connection weren't doing it properly. Another A50/2 had those missing, because someone had also removed the spring and ball to remove the stops.
In any case, a bad connection can give false readings.
If you have a mutimeter, you can check the lens. Maybe even the contacts on the camera.



02-24-2019, 10:53 PM   #17
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter
stevebrot's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver (USA)
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 39,130
QuoteOriginally posted by abruzzi Quote
When I have the 50/1.4 mounted and the aperture set to A, the camera reports “Av” mode. (Or M if I hit the dial to change shutter speed.) I’ve pressed the green button on the front to reset to P mode, but it doesn’t change.
There is your smoking gun. The camera is not detecting the "A" contact on the lens and is showing what it believes is the set aperture from the aperture ring. You may want to contact KEH and ask that they repair the lens. Out of curiosity., does your lens lock in the "A" position in the same manner as your other F and FA series lenses?

Edit: Oops! Forgot that it is the camera that is a recent purchase, not the lens.


Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 02-25-2019 at 09:26 AM.
02-25-2019, 12:34 AM   #18
Veteran Member
butangmucat's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 704
I think my second-hand FA31 had a similar issue before... It was fixed by a craftsman back in China by some simple disassembly and cleaning up the insides so that the A-pin can have a stable contact.
02-25-2019, 03:37 PM   #19
Pentaxian




Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 746
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Out of curiosity., does your lens lock in the "A" position in the same manner as your other F and FA series lenses?
It does lock, but the aperture ring is clearly a little more worn as the detents are not as noticeable and it doesn't turn as smoothly as my 1.7. I may give it a shot to see if there is any internal cleaning needed on the electrics and anything else.

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
aperture, auto aperture, camera, f1.4 — auto, f50/1.4, k-mount, k3ii, lens, mz-s, pentax lens, pentax-f 50 f1.4, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pentax K-5 Auto focus not working on Prime/Constant aperture lenses iamarunr Pentax K-5 3 07-19-2018 04:41 AM
K-30 Auto aperture not working tylerherring Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 6 04-03-2014 06:33 AM
The difference between MZ-5, MZ-7 and MZ-10? Raffwal Pentax Film SLR Discussion 7 02-11-2012 05:03 PM
Wanted - Acquired: any of Pentax MZ-S, Z-1P, Z-1,MZ-3, MZ-5N, MZ-5, MZ-6 tianyawoya Sold Items 1 07-10-2010 08:13 AM
Hands-On Comparison MZ-5n vs MZ-L(6) vs MZ-S k100d Pentax Film SLR Discussion 37 02-01-2009 11:25 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top