Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2019, 04:57 AM   #1

Advice on first M42 Wide Angle lens.

Hi everyone,

Absolute novice here. I've just bought my first camera (Spotmatic F) and now hoping to get an extra lens on top of the normal prime one it came with (SMC Takumar 55mm f1.8).

I'm based in the UK and looking to get my first wide angle lens, in the hopes of capturing some cityscape/landscape shots. I'm wondering what the consensus is on a decent entry level wide angle lens.

From what I can see online, it looks like I'll either end up with a S-M-C Takumar 28mm f.3.5 or the S-M-C/Super/Auto Takumar 35mm f.3.5. Any suggestions or alternatives?

Thanks!

04-15-2019, 05:09 AM - 2 Likes   #2
amateur dirt farmer / mod
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
both good choices, but I'm thinking wider... a Tamron Adaptall-2 01BB with the M42 adapter may be the thing...

24mm f2.5 and soo sweet!
04-15-2019, 07:09 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

So many good choices, really.

I agree with @pepperberry farm, the Tamron 01BB is a very nice lens, but I'm not sure how the edges will stand up on film. It has high center sharpness but in my experience the borders never sharpen up too well when stopped down, which might not be great for landscape photography.

My choice would be the Tamron Adaptall 13A, which has very good edge-to-edge sharpness @ 24mm. Gotta watch the light, though.

The Takumar 24/3.5 can be lovely, I like the rendering a lot and it feels great in use but there are many poor copies out there that cannot focus to infinity properly.

Here's a couple with the Tak, but digital not film...

Keep in mind that whichever M42 lens you decide on, you most likely won't know the history of the lens and whether it was well-cared for or just knocking around in the back of a vehicle for years.
04-15-2019, 07:29 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter