Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
05-22-2019, 12:54 PM   #1

Pentax DA*55 mm 1.4 vs FA43 mm 1.9

Hello Pentaxians

<I realized I typed the subject of the thread wrong, it should have been 55mm 1.4 vs 43 mm. >

I am considering to buy a short telephoto prime lens. My primary use will be portraits. I already have a 50 mm 1.8, but I am seriously considering an upgrade.

I started photography around a year ago. I use 16-85 for my landscapes and as a general walkaround/ vacation lens. For portraits, I have 77mm, 35 mm 2.4 and 50 mm 1.8. A large portion of my portraits is of my son, who is 6 months old. 77 mm is my absolute favorite for portraits - I use it every time we are out of the house. But at home, most of my pictures are shot with the 35 mm or 50 mm, since I live in a small apartment. I have used my 35 mm and 50 mm extensively - but I think as a photographer I am growing out of them. I can notice a difference in the quality of pictures shot with the 77 mm vs 50 & 35 mm. My biggest gripe with 35 mm and 50 mm is lack of contrast compared to the 77 mm. So I am thinking of buying a better quality 50 mm lens.

Pros of 55 mm as I understand are nicer bokeh, WR and larger aperture. I don't care about the WR, my use will be mostly inside the house. 43 mm has that unique ltd rendering, compact size and faster focus. I do care about the bokeh but at the same time, I love my 77 rendering - which I hope 43 ltd will also provide. I also compared the sharpness of 55 mm vs 50 mm 1.8 on opticallimits website. It seems that center sharpness of 50 mm at 1.8 is higher than 55 mm at f2 . Same with 43 mm, which has lower res than 50 mm 1.8 at all apertures. How can a more expensive lens have a lower resolution? What am I missing? The slow and inaccurate focus of 55 mm also seems to be a constant critique

As you can see, I need some help to make the decision.

Last edited by Gbhati01; 05-22-2019 at 01:54 PM.