Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2019, 07:14 AM   #1
Forum Member

Potentially stupid question about Mikaton Speedmaster/fast primes for the K-1 and AF

EDIT: For now I'm going with the FA* 85mm 1.4 Ltd thanks to pschlute!

Warning: Backgrouond rambling. I'll bold the important parts.

Hi all! I haven't been here in a hot minute, but I'm an ex-equine photographer now only shooting my own animals for fun (namely my 4-month-old puppy). In another life I muddled along with a Pentax K-r and Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8, often doing a lot of compensation work in post given that my gear isn't technically pro level. I stopped shooting for $—honestly stopped shooting almost completely, because burnout—a while back and have long since taken my website down (and am at work without access to the actual files), but I threw some examples off Facebook/my phone here—please excuse the compression/horrible IQ, I know. I pretty much stopped paying attention to photography, what's available, gear, ANYTHING, until I got my dog.

Well, I'm sick of hauling the old 70-20mm around to shoot her; I'm a short lady with puny arms, the dog is a LOT closer to the ground than horses are (I had to lie flat on my stomach in gravel to get several of the ones in the example album), and there are no arena fences to rest the camera on anymore (tripods and monopods restrict my mobility too much and I hate them). The puppy wants to be close to me, and a stay from across the yard (for portraits with the 70-200) is a lot harder for her than a stay from a couple of meters away.