Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2019, 05:00 AM   #106
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Fogel70 Quote
If you had read my whole post it was about compressing FF image circle into an APS-C image circle.
This will make the image on APS-C sensor brighter as the same amount of light is focussed on a smaller area
I am reading every post on here as carefully as I am able. I am not a lens engineer, just a photographer.

What I did not understand was the term "compressing". How does a lens compress light ?

Surely if a lens has say a baffle that restricts the spread of the light so only aps-c area is covered, all that is happening is the "spread" of light is affected. I do not understand how its intensity or brightness can be affected at all. My window example a few posts up demonstrates that restricting the passage of light does not change it's intensity/brightness for an area that is unrestricted in both cases (centre).

---------- Post added 08-21-19 at 01:04 PM ----------

This will make the image on APS-C sensor brighter as the same amount of light is focussed on a smaller area.
If this were the case, why do I get the same reading with my FF camera as my aps-c camera ?

08-21-2019, 05:39 AM - 2 Likes   #107
Pentaxian

I suspect we're moving into that part of any equivalence thread now where those who have been trying to explain how cameras actually work will start giving up out of sheer weariness. So it's possible that the last couple of posts will come from equivalence true believers, which is unfortunate because they tend to think that repeating things that are false again and again until people walk away counts as winning.

Either that or two people will end up shouting at each other and the mods will shut it down. That often happens too.

Anyway, I'm done with this one.
08-21-2019, 05:58 AM   #108
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums