Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 30 Likes Search this Thread
11-07-2019, 05:27 AM   #1

Do old lenses like SMC Pentax need UV filter if mounted on current DSLR?

Hi, I’m pretty new to using classic lenses on DSLR and I’m not sure if a filter, particular UV one, is needed. I’ve been reading on quite a lot of sites and some said that old lenses, unlike newer lenses, do need a UV filter, while some said it does not mater. So I’m unsure right now if I should buy it. (If I buy, it would be the Hoya fusion antistatic UV filter)

I’m currently using the SMC Pentax 30mm f2.8 on a Pentax KP.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

11-07-2019, 05:41 AM - 3 Likes   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome

A UV filter isn't needed, nor is it optically beneficial, with any lens (new or old) on digital cameras. In fact, whilst most of the time you wouldn't notice any difference in image quality, in certain circumstances UV filters can actually be detrimental, causing unwanted reflections and artefacts. Hence, it's best to avoid them when you can. Having said that, if I'm shooting in wet and windy, or gritty / sandy conditions, I'll usually fit a UV or clear protective filter so I can clean the front of the lens in the field without worrying about scratches...
11-07-2019, 05:45 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

The only reason I ever stick a filter on any old glass is for protection when NOT shooting.
Never use one when Im shooting....ever.
11-07-2019, 05:46 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Short answer, Nah!

Longer answer:- my understanding is that UV filters were more of a film thing and they don't improve the exposure on a digital camera, even with a vintage lens. However, they do protect the lens surface from being scratched.
Pros
Protect the lens, its cheaper to replace if it gets scratched
Some people believe they add clarity
Cons
A cheap one will degrade your image
Some give a colour caste