Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-08-2019, 12:41 PM   #1

AF lens to infinity - lowlight tips

I own a K-70 with kit DA 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 ED AL (IF) DC WR and the lovely HD DA 55-300mm f/4.5-6.3 ED PLM WR RE.

As a newbie hobbyist photographer, I'm trying to practice estimating DOF and focus distance. I also love to take photos of the moon and night sky.

Because these are entirely autofocus lenses, the focus ring does not stop in either direction - it turns 360 degrees continuously and it is not clear when it has focused at infinity!

I would trade in one or both of these lenses for credit towards the smc Pentax-DA 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 ED SDM, but the fact that this model is not WR (I shoot by the ocean and from boats frequently) and the cost are both making me debate whether to replac, the 18-135, the 55-300, both, or neither....

1.) tips for focusing my existing zoom lenses to infinity, especially in low light or with manual focus? I have live view zoom set to 8x but it's still difficult to judge for things like the moon and stars.

2.) suggested lenses and/or which of existing zooms to trade in? the 18-270 and macro 100mm 2.8 with an added tele converter are both appealing options. the macro would be the first 1:1 lens I own, I believe one of my zoom lenses currently has the best magnification ratio of just under 1/3 life size.

11-08-2019, 01:15 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

What are you shooting from boats/by the ocean? Moon shots would require a long focal length whereas night sky (astrophotography) is better with a wide angle lens which would also cover seascapes/landscapes. What results have you had with your 18-135 (scapes) & 55-300 (moon shots)? I own both but have tended to use the DA300 & D-FA100 macro WR most. Like yourself, I'm a novice. I'm sure a more experienced member will be along to provide a more informed response.
11-08-2019, 01:27 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter