Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2019, 01:46 PM   #1
Total n00b Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Vivitar 28-70 Problems

As I'm rather new to ILC cameras and Pentax, perhaps I'm doing something wrong or misunderstand how things work, but I'm having an issue with this lens that I just picked up. The lens is a Vivitar 28-70 1:3.5-4.8 Macro Zoom.

Since this is a lens with an A mode, shouldn't the lens communicate to the camera the focal length as well as aperture settings and whatnot? When I turn my K-7 on, it asks me for the focal length like it does for my M50. Is this normal or is this something else that isn't working correctly? If it's normal, how do I go about changing the setting as I zoom in/out? Do I have to turn the camera off and back on and select what I'm changing the focal length to every time? What is the easiest way to verify that the aperture is actually working correctly in auto mode? It does seem to detect that 3.5 is the fastest setting, but if I zoom out to where it should change to 4.8, the camera still stays set to 3.5. Is this just how this lens works on these cameras or is there something wrong with my copy?

Also, when rotating the lens, I can hear what sounds like something broken inside the lens falling around inside the lens. There's also a scratch across the glass that was not advertised nor shown in the pictures. (It was shipped in a bubble-wrap padded envelope, so it might have been working fine when they sent it but got busted in transit?)

I bought it as used but fully operational and functioning. The rattling inside is worrisome as I've no idea what that could be and I don't know if that's just how these lenses work in regards to focal length and aperture. Should I request a refund for it not being as advertised?

Any help you can give is appreciated.

12-14-2019, 04:30 PM   #2
Pentaxian