Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-06-2020, 03:05 PM   #1

Pentax DA* 55mm f1.4 SDM auto focus issue

Hi - I am new to the Pentax Forum (and discussion threads in general) - I be grateful for advice on an issue with a Pentax DA* 55mm f1.4 lens - the lens is slow to ‘wake up’ - it takes a couple of minutes of fiddling with it, manually focusing and trying to auto-focus, until eventually the auto focus comes to life and the lens begins to work as it should - do you know if there is a fix for this? - many thanks, Niall

01-06-2020, 04:10 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
People have reported that behavior many times. If I remember correctly using the lens on regular basis (whatever that means) made the problem go away for a while. I have had 2 copies of the lens and never had a problem, however.
01-06-2020, 07:00 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I also have this lens and not had any problems with it. I have read about some with the SDM being slow to wake up if not used for a while. I try to use mine at least once every few weeks.
01-07-2020, 10:59 AM - 1 Like   #4

My copy behaves exactly like this. It’s worse if I don’t use the lens for a while. I put up with it for the wonderful quality of the images.

01-07-2020, 11:29 AM - 1 Like   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
My DA* 55 does the same thing. I have to wake it up. It seems to take longer and longer. The last time I used it, it was indoors in a controlled situation and just used it in manual mode. Unfortunately it is not a lens that gets frequent use. I have considered selling it but once in awhile it’s exactly what I think I need.

Last edited by Perfessor5646; 01-07-2020 at 02:10 PM. Reason: Correct sloppy typing.
01-08-2020, 02:10 PM   #6

Original Poster