Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2008, 10:44 AM   #1
Inactive Account




Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: malaysia
Posts: 4
50-135 DA f2.8 with teleconverter?

CAn this lens reach be extended with a converter either 1.4 or 2x? if can which one...the sigma or tamron...or any of those advertised for pentax in ebay?

and is the da55-300 really that good? some review seem to put it sharp only up to 100mm or so...or is the tamron 18-250 a better buy?

11-03-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
Veteran Member




Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CT / NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 822
QuoteOriginally posted by lufc2001 Quote
and is the da55-300 really that good? some review seem to put it sharp only up to 100mm or so...or is the tamron 18-250 a better buy?

I highly doubt the Tammy has better IQ... but if you value versatility more than IQ, then yeah, the Tammy would indeed be a better buy.


I have the 55-300 and just recently bought the 50-135 and at first i had planned to sell the 55-300 once i had the 50-135... but it is such a great lens that i am keeping it for the zoo day or something similar.


BB
11-03-2008, 12:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
pdxbmw's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 218
Tamron 1.4AF Converter and 50-135mm

I actually just tried the teleconverter with both of these lenses this weekend at a local shop on my K10D. I found that the 50-135mm worked but hunted with the converter, while the 55-300mm seemed to work better with the converter. Didn't really hunt much at all. I was suprised at how well the 55-300mm worked, actually found it to focus quicker than the 50-135, with and with out the converter. But the 50-135mm sounded great when focusing, which meant you could barely hear it.
11-03-2008, 01:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
Talisker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Isle of Skye, Scotland
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 262
Not the Sigma

Works fine with the Tamron - SDM is maintained. I haven't noticed any real problem with hunting. Won't work with the Sigma APO - these converters need the rear element of the lens to be recessed and the 50-135 has the rear element flush with the rear end of the inner barrel. I've checked, having just picked up a 'reconditioned' SIgma (ie returned to factory under guarentee and repaired) to go with the 'reconditioned' 100-300mm.

11-03-2008, 08:32 PM   #5
Senior Member




Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
QuoteOriginally posted by Talisker Quote
Works fine with the Tamron - SDM is maintained.
how good is the IQ... 90% as good?
11-03-2008, 10:07 PM   #6
Pentaxian
jgredline's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LosAngeles, Ca.
Photos: Albums
Posts: 10,587
check here.
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/19694-tamron-t...rter-pics.html
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
k-mount, pentax lens, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chinon 135 & Chinar 135 , Good Bad or Ugly seacapt Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 1 02-26-2010 09:03 PM
Teleconverter with DA* 50-135? sebberry Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 15 11-19-2009 01:35 PM
For Sale - Sold: FS: Pentax 12-24, 50-135, sigma 70-300, teleconverter etc pastorbbc Sold Items 15 02-28-2008 05:44 PM
Help on a teleconverter for Sigma 135-400mm rdrum76 Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 06-25-2007 12:51 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top