Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
08-10-2020, 08:09 PM   #1
Forum Member

Physical diameter of the lens

Noob here, so please educate me. I have a new 50mm F1.8 SMC DA lens that I bought with my camera and an older 50mm F1.4 SMC M lens that I bought on Craigslist. Looking at the two lenses, the old F1.4, I can see the diameter of the objective (my term for the front element) is much larger than the new F1.8. The older lens is about 38mm vs. about 30mm for the new lens. So when fully open, the F1.4's aperture diameter is about 27mm and the F1.8's aperture diameter is 16.7mm. So I'm assuming the light gathering ability of the older lens is more than the newer lens (I also own a couple of telescopes, and in that world, objective diameter is king). Is this assumption of mine correct? When buying a lens, should we be looking at the physical diameter of the lenses as well as the focal length and minimum F-Stop? Why is the physical diameter not widely discussed/publicized?

I was looking to shoot some asteroids tonight, and would like as wide a physical aperture as possible. Naturally I'm leaning towards the older lens. I'll try shots with both lenses at the same F-stop and compare results.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Last edited by zeebanker; 09-12-2020 at 08:03 PM.
08-10-2020, 08:40 PM - 1 Like   #2

QuoteOriginally posted by zeebanker Quote
should we be looking at the physical diameter of the lenses as well as the focal length and minimum F-Stop
Not really, the nomenclature for f stops means focal length divided by number, so in case of 50 mm f/1.4 you get 50/1.4=35.7mm. 50/1.8=27.8, so you don't need as big of a front element compared to 1.4, therefore it is smaller.

Why is the physical diameter not widely discussed/publicized?