Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-09-2020, 02:59 PM - 17 Likes   #1

Created a new vintage lens reference site for major SLR lens systems

Hey all,

I'm a web engineer who was laid off for a bit this past spring due to COVID, and used that time to create https://aperturepedia.com, a new lens reference site which I wanted to share with you all. My goal here was to create a free resource with long-term support for referencing and comparing specs for most vintage first-party SLR camera lenses, as well as a repository for helpful links to other sites which may not immediately come up in Google, or Wayback Machine-cached dead sites (RIP Geocities).

Right now the site includes OEM lens tables for the following systems:

- Pentax K
- Pentax M42
- Pentax M37
- Minolta SR
- Nikon F
- Canon FD
- Olympus OM
- Konica AR

Each lens table features expandable rows with more info and helpful links to other sites including reviews, repair guides, & more source material for each lens. The site itself is open source, anyone interested in checking out the source code can do so here: GitHub - nklein1/aperturepedia: Guide to first-party vintage SLR lenses

I've been following PentaxForums among other camera forums for a while, ever since I inherited my grandmother's Minolta XE-7 and discovered I could also adapt her Rokkor lenses on my Sony A7II. I found Dennis Lohmann's lens reference table (www.minolta.eazypix.de/lenses) extremely useful while I was investigating how to expand my Minolta lens collection, but wished that similarly comprehensive lens tables existed for other systems so that I could compare lenses at a glance.