Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2008, 06:52 PM   #1
Forum Member




Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: houston texas
Photos: Albums
Posts: 70
Tamron 1.4x pz-af mc4 converter on f2.8

Which lens would the converter work on with no problems? The tamron f2.8 70-200mm or the sigma f2.8 70-200mm. I read posts that said the sigma f2.8 70-200 does not work with the converter.

11-09-2008, 08:22 PM   #2
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California
Posts: 110
Looking on the Sigma Website it only talks about the sigma version being compatable.

" * Sigma APO Tele Converter 1.4x and 2x are dedicated Tele Converter lenses, which should be used with listed lenses only.
* AF function of Pentax mounts cannot be used with SFX/SF7 cameras.
* Do not use the APO Tele Converter EX on top of another APO Tele Converter, or any other kinds of converters. "

Sigma - Lenses - Teleconverters

Hopefully that helps.

-YQ
11-09-2008, 09:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
sharko's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: City of Angels
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 278
I have the Tamron 1.4x tc and the new Tamron 70-200 on the way next week so I am going to find out the hard way, lol.
11-09-2008, 09:52 PM   #4
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California
Posts: 110
QuoteOriginally posted by sharko Quote
I have the Tamron 1.4x tc and the new Tamron 70-200 on the way next week so I am going to find out the hard way, lol.
Let me know how that works out. I'm looking to get one.

-YQ

11-10-2008, 02:50 AM   #5
Veteran Member
cupic's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia-NSW
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 4,724
QuoteOriginally posted by sharko Quote
I have the Tamron 1.4x tc and the new Tamron 70-200 on the way next week so I am going to find out the hard way, lol.


Mine in due in this week(Sigma 70-200 f/2.8) so i will have to be the guinea pig


cheers

Last edited by cupic; 11-10-2008 at 03:01 AM.
11-10-2008, 04:32 AM   #6
Veteran Member
Mechan1k's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,883
In the Tamron TC thread one of the guys has used the Tamron x1.4 on the Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 ... It's the Sigma TCs that don't fit other lenses due to the element orientation.

The Tamron TC fits all of my lenses ... even my M42 gear as well.
11-13-2008, 06:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
sharko's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: City of Angels
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 278
QuoteOriginally posted by Yale Quan Quote
Let me know how that works out. I'm looking to get one.

-YQ

Works great. I didn't really test it extensively but the only thing that is noticeable right away is that the AF is a little louder but I don't see it as that big a deal. Here are some quick test shots to show the difference in reach:

Tamron 70-200 @ 70mm (all at wide open)



@70mm w/ TC


@200mm



@200mm w/ TC

11-13-2008, 11:03 PM   #8
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California
Posts: 110
Sweet. I got mine on order!!!

-YQ

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
1.4x pz-af mc4, 70-200mm, converter, f2.8, k-mount, pentax lens, sigma, slr lens, tamron, tamron 1.4x pz-af
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAMRON-F AF Tele-converter 1.4X Pz-AF MC4 yegnal Pentax DSLR Discussion 3 05-04-2010 03:12 PM
For Sale - Sold: Tamron-F 1.4X Pz-AF MC4 Tele-Converter jjdgti Sold Items 3 12-03-2009 08:16 AM
For Sale - Sold: Tamron 1.4x Pz-AF MC4 Tele-Converter mmzymxf Sold Items 2 11-09-2008 12:12 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:34 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top