Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2020, 04:52 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Comparing Fujinon 16mm, Zenitar 16mm, Tokina 17mm, and Samyang 8mm.

The plan was to compare projections and centre sharpness.
Wet day here in NZ so looking out the door is as good as it gets. But does nicely for comparing projections.
These are on the K-1 and the Samyang is saved as apsc. So for simplicity I resized it 150% in the details.

The Fujinon 16mm 2.8 is a M42 and seems to be very uncommon. A lovely big lens with internal filters. I will open a review on it when I have got some experience with it.
Has anyone else here got one?
The Fujinon seems to have a wider field of view than the Zenitar but maybe softer on the corners. Needs a better subject to compare that.

The Samyang seemed noticeably faster than the others - guessing a t stop difference.
Don't compare the exposures here - it wasn't a t stop comparison. The shutter speed was varied in M mode to roughly match the change of aperture.

Attached Images

11-24-2020, 04:59 PM   #2
Pentaxian

I think the Fujinon and the Tokina are best in terms of center sharpness at 5.6 but the Tokina reeaally sucks wide open. The Zenitar isn't far behind the Fujinon wide open or stopped down.

The samyang is a completely different focal length and apsc so that's not exactly fair.

In terms of projection I think the Samyang is the clear winner in my eyes. The Zenitar and Fujinon projections are almost identical to me.

Last edited by ZombieArmy; 11-24-2020 at 05:05 PM.
11-24-2020, 05:33 PM   #3
GUB
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ZombieArmy Quote
The samyang is a completely different focal length and apsc so that's not exactly fair.
Agree. This is a comparison for it not a competition.