Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2008, 11:46 PM   #1

Lens Advice please...

I currently have a K100DS which I have had a great time with.

For the last couple of months I have been considering upgrading to a K200 or the K20.

I am still new to it all, only 1 years worth of experience.

My reasons are I crop a lot and more MP would help with less noise. I am out and about a lot so a sealed camera would be a god send.

So I have read and read and read about all sorts of cameras, inc Nikon D60 and Canon EOS450D. I driving myself slightly mad with it all now!

NOW, I am thinking....what about a decent lens to go with what I have. Learn and play with that before getting a new body.

I am finding my 18-55mm (F3.5-5.6AL) can't handle low light and I am in the woods a lot with the children right now and not getting what I want no matter how many ways I shoot.

I also have a Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 for SA and Pentax 35-105mm F-4-F5.6.
So nothing thats good for low light.

I also want sharper images which I have been told will involve a better lens.

My question is tho, which one! There are so many. I know I need a low F number but thats it. Its all a bit mind boggling so I'd appreciate advice on this.

So to conclude, do I get a new body or a new lense

11-14-2008, 12:11 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
If your priority is low noise then a k20d is the way to go. This way you can bump up the iso in low light conditions and maintain low noise. Although maybe you should invest in a flash gun for those low light situations?

To get sharper images you should look at prime lenses like the Pentax FA 50mm 1.4 which is quite cheap and allows you to shoot in low light conditions.

Btw, more megapixels on a sensor=more noise. Try not to crop so much and the noise will be less obvious!
11-14-2008, 02:53 AM   #3

I agree that a K20D sounds good.