Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2021, 05:21 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Portrait lens

Hi!
I was not into portrait photography until now, since I am a hobbyist, with interests in street photography, landscape and minimal / abstract. Anyway, I was thinking about taking more ''professional'' portraits of my familly and dog.
I own a Pentax KP with the two plastic fantastic 50mm 1.8 and 35mm 2.4 in addition to my DA*55-135. I've just ordered also the Limited 20-40mm from eBay.
Which one of these lenses are best for portraits? Should I buy another one? Any tips / links to tutorials for my level?
Thank you in advance for all innputs!

01-29-2021, 05:35 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

the knowledge one can find here at the forums can be very helpful

perhaps you may want to look at this:

QuoteQuote:
Photographing Family and Friends: A Cheat Sheet
Capturing portraits of family and friends is fun but challenging.
By Inexorable in Articles and Tips on Jun 25, 2014

Read more at: Photographing Family and Friends: A Cheat Sheet - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com

and this:

QuoteQuote:
Beginner Portrait Lens Guide
What lenses to choose, and why- with a video demo!
By PF Staff in Gear Guides on Jun 11, 2013

Read more at: https://www.pentaxforums.com/articles/gear-guides/beginner-portrait-lens-gui...#ixzz6kwKQo9LV

and this:

QuoteQuote:
Taking Pet Portraits: A Guide
Capturing cats and dignifying dogs
By leadbelly in Articles and Tips on Jun 20, 2014
Read more at: Taking Pet Portraits: A Guide - Articles and Tips | PentaxForums.com
01-29-2021, 05:49 AM - 2 Likes   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by bcernucan Quote
Which one of these lenses are best for portraits?