Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
02-18-2021, 02:25 PM   #16

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
When the 18-35 gets back from repair (?!) do check FOV against the FA 35 at 2 meters and closer. Most internal focus lenses have significant focus breathing at the long end with loss of working distance if used for portraits and closeups.

Steve
I did a quick FOV test, and they are so close that it is insignificant. Focus breathing on the other hand...the Sigma wins by a mile. I could not detect any in the Sigma (again, I am a novice, but to my eye there was none), but the FA35 had a very noticeable change in FOV when focusing. For me it wouldn't matter, as I had never thought to check any of my lenses for it, but now I know.

In the interest of fully educating myself, I will keep the FA35 for a bit and move my other lenses first. I'll put it in the back of the shelf, and if it ends up covered in dust I will sell it. I have the kit lenses that I no longer need either (and they ARE covered in dust), so I will divest myself of those first.

That will leave me with an 18-135 WR, 18-35 Art, the FA35 2.0, 43 LTD, FA50 1.4, FA* 300 and soon an 85 of some flavor (probably a Samyang).

---------- Post added 02-18-21 at 03:28 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by pres589 Quote
Might as well sell the glass you aren't that interested in keeping around. Curious what 85 you plan to pick up. Think you'll get anything to fill in between the 18-35 and the 85?
I posted above, but I have the 43 LTD and the FA50 1.4 as well as the 18-135 WR. For the 85 I might go with the Samyang. I thought about getting a 77 LTD or an FA* 85, but I don't have the budget for either right now.

02-18-2021, 02:40 PM   #17
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by 5shot Quote
I did a quick FOV test, and they are so close that it is insignificant.