Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2021, 10:06 PM   #46
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mikesbike Quote
This aspect did not show up in previous lab tests, as these were done on APS-C bodies.
Have you reviewed the FA 31 on the K-1 for this site? Your findings along with examples (corrected vs. uncorrected) would be helpful.

Steve

03-02-2021, 05:43 PM   #47
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by aslyfox Quote
1 I am no photography expert, I'm just some one who posts a lot

2 was this always true, even with film?

if not, why would this be given that the FA limiteds were developed for the " full frame " 35 film negative
Full frame or film lenses just vignette, Aslyfox, that's just how it is.

APS-C cameras truly get the best 50 percent of a lens' performance.

The FA31 vignettes, the new DFA 28-105 kit lens vignettes, the $4000 Zeiss 55mm Otus vignettes.
03-02-2021, 06:22 PM   #48
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by clackers Quote
Full frame or film lenses just vignette, Aslyfox, that's just how it is.

APS-C cameras truly get the best 50 percent of a lens' performance.

The FA31 vignettes, the new DFA 28-105 kit lens vignettes, the $4000 Zeiss 55mm Otus vignettes.
ok I can understand that I think

but the original comment referred to it doing it with full frame sensor camera bodies:

QuoteOriginally posted by mikesbike Quote
. . . when used on the K-1 or other FF body. . . . .
which the FA lenses were developed for [ as opposed to a DA lens being developed for the smaller ASP-C sensor ] so I thought the problem would not be as bad

just mark me even more
03-02-2021, 07:17 PM - 1 Like   #49
Site Supporter
Site Supporter