05-25-2021, 06:42 AM - 2 Likes   #31
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Pål Jensen Quote
1) Re-release as HD D-FA 560/5.6
2) A new D-FA 250-600/5.6
3) D-FA 600/5.6

I don't think 600/4 lenses makes much sense anymore. They weight and cost twice as much as a 600/5.6. They are from an age when 200ISO was high speed......
The Canon 600/4 L III weighs the same as the Pentax 560/5.6.

F4 makes teleconverters more feasible.

05-25-2021, 06:45 AM - 2 Likes   #32
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RGlasel Quote
The DA * 200mm and DA * 300mm (and unofficially the DA 560mm) are FF compatible even if they were originally designed for Pentax APS-C cameras. I'm not an optical engineer, but it seems that you can't design a smaller long telephoto prime in K-mount to only cover the APS-C image circle.
1/ DA560 is officially FF compatible AFAIK
2/ DA200* optics dates back from FA* so FF compatible it certainly is.
05-25-2021, 08:44 AM - 1 Like   #33
Pentaxian

I think that they will replace it with a prime lens with less focal length, maybe more speed but surely two dedicated RCs. I bet on the 400mm f/4.0 .
05-25-2021, 12:46 PM - 1 Like   #34
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by termy Quote
The DA560 just need an upgrade of its AF motor, to make it faster.
I'd have thought so as well, though my own findings are not as bad as Redpit's AF speed/fixing in AF-C compared to DFA150-450mm.
Time will tell...

05-25-2021, 02:17 PM   #35
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Zygonyx Quote
I'd have thought so as well, though my own findings are not as bad as Redpit's AF speed/fixing in AF-C compared to DFA150-450mm.
Time will tell...

I’m talking about working with the K-3iii. The DA 560 on K-1 is great and I prefer it so far as a camera for the lens. Maybe the K-3iii is too fast for this lens. I’m still experimenting with the various combos and compare the results.