Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 58 Likes Search this Thread
07-19-2021, 04:36 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
focal lengths and their best uses?

Hi Pentaxians,
I am relatively new to the camera world but I have mastered the basics and can take a technically competent picture (correct exposure, desired depth of field etc etc) but one thing makes me scratch my head...
and that is the choice of lens, focal lengthwise.

I know the extreme examples, wide for landscape and zoom for catching the far off but in between drives me mad.

When I take the camera out I usually have no idea at all what I plan to shoot so I usually take my sigma 28-300 super wide lens which in good light gives me great pictures, of various types.
But I am aware that this is a bit of a blunderbuss approach, and I may be sacrificing some sharpness by using one lens.

I have a dozen or more pentax lenses ranging from 28/50/135 primes to a host of 35-80/28-70/35-105 etc.
This last category of medium zooms gives me the headache as I really dont know what are the best uses for each.
To a certain degree I guess its a matter of personal choice but I cant find any fixed logic to hang a preference from.

I would be very interested to hear your opinions and reasons for choosing which medium zooms you choose under which circumstances.

All the best
Rob

Last edited by Rob Payne; 07-20-2021 at 03:02 AM.
07-19-2021, 04:48 AM - 3 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Find a perspective which gives the desired spacial relationships for your foreground and background elements.

Select your focal length to give you the framing you want.
07-19-2021, 04:49 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

First, we need to know what the crop factor is, which means, are you full frame (K1) or APS-C?

Conventional wisdom is 50mm (in fact 43mm) is "human point of view" for full frame. On APS-C, this is between 28 and 35mm.