Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-29-2008, 01:38 PM   #1

UPDATE DEC 08: New to DSLR. I need help with older lenses.

I am new to DSLR cameras. I come from primarily P&S cameras, but I am finding that the photos are not as clear as I would like and missing the SLR look. I owned an older Pentax Optio and it was horrible. I did not let that persuade me in coming back to Pentax though. So I am about to purchase a K200d from Pentax (Primarily from a Basic SLR and price stand point). I really enjoy the fact that I can interchange lenses but I do have a question about that.

How do I know what lenses are compatible with a current Pentax K200d.

My mom has a plethora of Canon, Tamron, a super tamurac from an old Honeywell Pentax, Sears Canon...and some others. I really want to be able to use some of these older lenses. Is there anyone out there with knowledge on this subject?

Thank you,
Mike

Last edited by beequick; 12-14-2008 at 12:45 PM.
11-29-2008, 01:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Anything that is K mount (designed to be used with Pentax, twists & locks into place, as opposed to screwing in) is compatible with no adapters. Screwmount lenses require an adapter. And K-mount lenses with no "A" position on the aperture ring will only work in manual ("M") exposure mode, but the camera *will* meter with them and set an appropriate shutter speed for the selected aperture when you press the green button. Only lenses that are designed to autofocus will autofocus, of course.
11-29-2008, 01:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by beequick Quote

My mom has a plethora of Canon, Tamron, a super tamurac from an old Honeywell Pentax, Sears Canon...and some others. I really want to be able to use some of these older lenses. Is there anyone out there with knowledge on this subject?