Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
08-26-2021, 12:52 AM   #1

Budget Telephoto Lens

Is there such thing as a GOOD budget telephoto lens?

I’ve been using a Sigma 28-200mm for the last 8 years and really need to upgrade. It takes some lovely shots but when it comes to wildlife photography such as birds, I just don’t have the zoom power, even with the 2x MC4 fitted.

I’ve seen some 400mm M8’s going on ebay for under £100 and various others, but are they worth it?

I know nothing about lenses , and my kidneys aren’t in the best condition to be sold to afford a proper massive lens like most people seem to have these days.

Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated!

08-26-2021, 01:06 AM   #2
GUB
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Thekillerqueen Quote
I’ve seen some 400mm M8’s going on ebay for under £100 and various others, but are they worth it?
A lot of the older ones are capable of sharp images and are cheap enough. Trouble is they are manual focus - up to you and your subject matter whether that is an issue or not.
08-26-2021, 01:26 AM   #3

try the sigma 400mm apo tele, with af, often forgotten

https://500px.com/photo/1036324997

Last edited by rozand; 08-26-2021 at 02:37 AM.
08-26-2021, 01:37 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Pentaxian

I was always convinced that the words "good" an "budget" should not be used in the same line.

08-26-2021, 01:37 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

think, first of all.

Got to define what is your "budget".

To some, USD400 is A LOT of money.
For some, USD1000 is considered "small change".

But, without knowing the above, i will think, consideration has to be given to the following >>

1) Pentax DA 55-300 PLM
(superb image quality, extremely portable size)

2) Sigma 70-300 DG OS.

3) Tamron 70-300.

4) (assuming you can push it to USD500-600, you could have two possible choices)
Sigma 100-300 f4,