Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-17-2021, 08:37 AM - 2 Likes   #1

A comparison: Takumar 135mm f3.5 (preset) vs Super-Takumar 135mm f3.5

A few weeks ago, I posted a question about two beautiful lenses that I happened to come across by. My initial question was about which of both to keep and which to sell. Of course, as expected, I got a lot of feedback about why not to keep both... Well, some time ago I decided that I needed to set boundaries for myself because somehow I tend to keep everything that's originally meant to be sold. However, as some people suggested, this would be a great opportunity to do a little comparison of both lenses.

Today I had a day off from work, the weather was okay (it was a little overcast, but there was little wind and no rain) so I grabbed my tripod, packed my bag, and off I went.

Since I am not a professional photographer or reviewer in any sense, I am completely aware that this isn't anywhere near a full comparison or review. This was just done for the sake of having fun and actually trying to find out if there are any directly visible differences between the two.

(Shot with the Super-Multi-Coated Takumar 200mm f4.0)

Both lenses were coupled to my Sony A6300 using a K&F Concept adapter. I went from f4 all the way to f22 on shutter priority mode, with focus set on 7 meters for the next couple of shots.

f4

(Takumar preset version)

(Super Takumar version)

Right away, on f4, some differences in contrast are visible (the front element of the preset version seems to be yellowed a bit, is this a thorium lens?). The Takumar preset version of this lens has 8 aperture blades and 5 elements in 4 groups. The Super-Takumar has 6 aperture blades and 4 elements in 4 groups. According to the data found in the ultimate Asahi Pentax Collector's Guide by Gerjan van Oosten, both have a minimum focussing distance of 1,5 meters.

f8

(Takumar preset version)

(Super Takumar version)