Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-14-2021, 09:54 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Pixel peepers wanted...

Hi all,

I got a K-3 mk III a few months back and it's so good it inspired me to pick up the new DA* 16-50 to get the most out of it.
I have a 30-day return policy but I'm not experienced with evaluating imperfections.

Can you take a look at this one? It was shot at f8 and 1/100 sec so it should be sharp pretty much everywhere.
I see some unsharp area in the upper left but not all the way in the corner. Perhaps it is just that on pine branch was moving...I don't know.
What do you think?

p.s. I'll post a couple more shots too.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/89237167@N02/B2Mg74

---------- Post added 11-14-21 at 11:58 AM ----------

This one also at f8.
It is "in camera" HDR but still came out pretty sharp with three images combined

PTX_3180.jpg | Vince Mokry | Flickr

---------- Post added 11-14-21 at 12:01 PM ----------

Also at f8

PTX_3159.jpg | Vince Mokry | Flickr

11-14-2021, 10:13 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
About the first photo, a 50mm lens at f8 on 24mp apsc doesn't have that much depth of field as you'd think. All images look good to me, if there's softness it's not looking like a lens issue just out of focus. Do you remember where you focused for each image?
11-14-2021, 10:20 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by aaacb Quote
About the first photo, a 50mm lens at f8 on 24mp apsc doesn't have that much depth of field as you'd think. All images look good to me, if there's softness it's not looking like a lens issue just out of focus. Do you remember where you focused for each image?
Thanks for the help.

I was using AF-S and the max number of points. Is decentering best evaluated with max aperture which for this lens is f2.8???
11-14-2021, 10:20 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter